Facebook offers anti-pornography tools

Users will receive a notification when their images are posted by others without permission.

According to The Guardian, Facebook’s new image-matching technology is designed specifically to combat the sharing of user content for the purpose of pornographic vengeance. Victims will be notified and may be flagged for the removal of images posted by themselves on this social network without permission. Shared account downloads will also be disabled in some cases.

This system is somewhat similar to Microsoft’s PhotoDNA image control system used to identify and prevent the spread of child abuse or terrorist material.

Antigone Davis, head of Facebook’s global safety department, said: “These tools are an example of potential technology to help keep people safe.” Davis also quotes Mark Zuckerberg’s statement of the future of Facebook: “Success does not just depend on whether you can take pictures, shoot videos and share with your friends, but also whether you are building a secure community. Full, prevent harmful elements or not. ”

In April 2015, 206 people in England and Wales were prosecuted for sharing pornographic images and videos without the consent of the owner. Laura Higgins, founder of the Revenge Porn Helpline in the UK, has voiced support for these new changes. “The new process will help ensure many victims of sexual abuse rely on images, significantly reducing the amount of malicious content on a social networking platform”, Higgins said.

Legally, revenge on pornography is considered very different from region to region because the main problem is whether the image is self-published or posted by others. However, some countries and regions have added legislation to determine that this is a criminal offense. In California, for example, although it is agreed upon by the parties, pornographic images are still considered private because they are subjected to “severe emotional distress.”

Last year a 14-year-old girl sued Facebook for posting a nude photo of herself on a “badge” without permission. The problem is that the picture has been deleted many times but still reappears. Facebook has done nothing to stop this situation absolutely.

New image-merging technology will help Facebook prevent re-posting of blocked images. Technically, the system relies on combining images with a pre-existing database. To alert Facebook, when the photo is posted for the first time, the user needs to flag the notification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *